NFHS Award of Excellence

NFHS Award of Excellence

The Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) together with the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) has established the NFHS Award of Excellence for Sportsmanship, Ethics & Integrity to honor remarkable student-athletes who have demonstrated exceptional character and sportsmanship in their athletic pursuits. Deserving students will be presented with a certificate from the Chief Executive of the NFHS, Karissa Neihoff, and the Executive Director of the TSSAA, Mark Reeves.

Leadership among both the staff and students within our schools is vitally important and is a significant tool in molding the future of our communities and nation. Leaders who show respect, integrity and good sportsmanship not only influence their peers but demonstrate values that extend beyond athletics. They contribute to a positive school environment and often become role models that inspire younger students to follow the path of good leadership.

Please use the form linked below to share a story about a student-athlete you know who has demonstrated exceptional sportsmanship, integrity, and ethics. If you have any questions about the award or the nomination process, please contact Courtney Brunetz (

We look forward to your submissions recognizing your outstanding student-athletes who embody good sportsmanship and ethical behavior and exude a spirit of fairness and respect.

Online Nomination Form

Award Receipients
Student's School Student's Name
Cumberland County High School Jacob Atkinson
Daniel Boone High School Kyleigh Bacon
Gatlinburg-Pittman High School Leah Stinnett
Kenwood High School Yavilka Penaloza Burton
Memphis University School Henry Duncan
Mt Juliet Christian Academy Ellie Gee
Murfreesboro Central Magnet School Harper Guthrie
St. Andrew's-Sewanee Emilie Leathers