BlueCross Championship Series


BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee and the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association initiated the BlueCross Championship Series in 2011 to recognize athletic excellence and sportsmanship in high schools across the state.

The BlueCross Championship Series recognizes those Tennessee high schools with the highest performing athletic programs each school year. Schools are awarded points based on quarterfinal, semifinal, final round and championship appearances with the potential points earned increasing at each level of competition. Sports with individual and team competitions will earn points based on team composite scores, not individual performances. Sports without a tiered quarterfinal, semifinal, final and championship round system will be awarded points based on final standings at championship events. The total points earned will be divided by the number of sports offered at that school to create an average point total. The BlueCross Championship Series groups schools according to their competitive division and class as assigned by the TSSAA, with a total of two Division II and three Division I classes.

As a way of recognizing sportsmanship among Tennessee high schools, only schools that have no reported incidents of unsportsmanlike behavior during the school year will be eligible to win the BlueCross Championship Series in its competitive class.

At the end of the school year, those schools with the top average point totals in their competitive division and class with no unsportsmanlike incidents will be named the BlueCross Champions and each receive a $2,500 cash donation from BlueCross.  The winning schools will also receive a traveling trophy to display in the school for one year until the next winners are announced.

2013-14 School Year
Class A Union City High School (Union City, TN)
Class AA Hume-Fogg Academic Magnet School (Nashville, TN)
Class AAA Farragut High School (Knoxville, TN)
DII-A St. George’s Independent School (Collierville, TN)
DII-AA Harpeth Hall High School – (Nashville, TN)
2012-13 School Year
Class A Friendship Christian School (Lebanon, TN)
Class AA Christ Presbyterian Academy (Nashville, TN)
Class AAA Brentwood High School (Brentwood, TN)
DII-A Evangelical Christian School (Cordova, TN)
DII-AA Baylor School – (Chattanooga, TN)
2011-12 School Year
Class A Decatur Co. Riverside High School (Decaturville, TN)
Class AA Christ Presbyterian Academy (Nashville, TN)
Class AAA Henry Co. High School (Paris, TN)
DII-A Webb School of Knoxville (Knoxville, TN)
DII-AA Girls Preparatory School – (Chattanooga, TN)