Class AA Mr. Basketball Winner: Braxton Blackwell, CPA

Contact: Matthew Gillespie

MURFREESBORO- – -The winner of the Division I Class AA Mr. Basketball Award was announced at the conclusion of the championship game today at Murphy Center.  Your 2015 Division I Class AA Mr. Basketball Award winner is Braxton Blackwell of Christ Presbyterian Academy. The other two finalists were Chris McNeal from Jackson South Side High School and Legerald Vick from Frederick Douglass High School.

Braxton is a 6’8” junior, forward for the Lions.  He is a three year starter who averages 21.7 points, 11.3 rebounds, 5.1 assists, and three steals per game.  He shoots 56.1% from the field and 62.4% from the free throw line.  He has twice been named to the All-District, All-District Tournament, All-Region, and All-State teams.  He is a two-time Region MVP and was named the Player of the Year by the Tennessean.  Braxton was the winner of the Class AA Mr. Basketball Award in 2014..