2016 Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards – Semifinalists



To Be Presented Monday, November 28, 2016
Nissan Stadium, Nashville
11:00 A.M. – 1:00 P.M.

Nashville, Tennessee, November 4, 2016 – The Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards will be presented to the top 16 backs and linemen in eight classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Monday, November 28, 2016, at Nissan Stadium in Nashville. For the 15th consecutive year, the top kicker in the state will be recognized with a Mr. Football Award, regardless of classification.

Four semifinalists are announced in this release for each category and each classification. There are six classifications in Division I and two in Division II. With “Back of the Year” and “Lineman of the Year” for each classification, as well as the “Kicker of the Year” award, that makes for a total of 17 award categories. Two finalists for each category will be announced by Mike Keith on the Titans website at www.titansonline.com on Tuesday, November 15 at 11:00 a.m. CST / 12:00 p.m. EST. The two finalists for each award will be the ones invited to attend the awards luncheon at Nissan Stadium, where the winner of each award will be announced.

A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2016 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

“We are very excited and appreciative about being involved with the Tennessee Titans for the 10th consecutive year,” stated Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA. “They have helped make the recognition of these 68 student-athletes, their families, and schools possible. The sponsorship of the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards and numerous contributions to high schools across the state since the team moved to Tennessee have meant a great deal to the member schools of the TSSAA.”

This is the 32nd year that the Mr. Football Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school football players. A Mr. Football trophy will be presented to the winners of each category. A Mr. Football plaque will be presented to the runner-up in each category. The other semi-finalists will each receive a certificate.

More than 400 people, including the 34 finalists, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2016 luncheon.

Mike Keith, play-by-play voice of the Tennessee Titans, will emcee the awards presentation. A live videostream of the awards will be provided at www.titansonline.com.

2016 Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Semifinalists
Division I Class 1A Lineman Division I Class 1A Back
Michael Butner
South Pittsburg High School
Brant Lawless
Nashville Christian School
Spencer Norrod
Monterey High School
Josh Silvey
Greenback High School
Preston Rice
Wayne County High School
Kayne Roberts
Greenback High School
D.J. Taylor
Huntland High School
Dresser Winn
Dresden High School
Division I Class 2A Lineman Division I Class 2A Back
Alex Kirkendoll
Marion County High School
Hunter McClain
Marion County High School
Donald Staats
Watertown High School
Slayton Wild
Forrest High School
Darius Harper
Austin-East High School
Caleb Johnson
Memphis Academy of Health Sciences
Seth Price
Watertown High School
Cordarrian Richardson
Trezevant High School
Division I Class 3A Lineman Division I Class 3A Back
Hunter Davenport
Sequatchie County High School
Jacob Phillips
East Nashville Magnet School
Jacob Rimmer
Milan High School
Jack Warwick
Alcoa High School
Terrell Carter
Stratford High School
Hunter Davenport
Sequatchie County High School
Tykee Kellogg
Alcoa High School
Cole Smith
Christian Academy of Knoxville
Division I Class 4A Lineman Division I Class 4A Back
Latrell Bumphus
Hardin County High School
Cade Mays
Knoxville Catholic High School
Cain McWilliams
Marshall County High School
Rutger Reitmaier
Lipscomb Academy
Antwuan Branch
Kenwood High School
Chase Kuerschen
Knoxville Catholic High School
Amari Rodgers
Knoxville Catholic High School
Timothy Taylor
Memphis East High School
Division I Class 5A Lineman Division I Class 5A Back
Maleik Gray
LaVergne High School
Trevis Hooper
Memphis Central High School
Eli Katina
Centennial High School
Mike Rhoades
Campbell County High School
Caden Harbin
Knoxville Halls High School
Tee Higgins
Oak Ridge High School
Jordan Mason
Gallatin High School
Jacob Murprhee
Dickson County High School
Division I Class 6A Lineman Division I Class 6A Back
T.D. Blackmon
Maryville High School
D.J. Delfendahl
Mt. Juliet High School
Aubrey Miller
Whitehaven High School
Max Wray
Franklin High School
Cole Copeland
Bradley Central High School
Dylan Hopkins
Maryville High School
JaCoby Stevens
Oakland High School
Kylan Watkins
Whitehaven High School
Division II Class A Lineman Division II Class A Back
Morgan Ernst
Webb School of Knoxville
Will Lawrence
Harding Academy
Cole Lusby
The King’s Academy
Trey Smith
University School of Jackson
Calvin Austin III
Harding Academy
Eric Gray
Lausanne Collegiate School
Chase Hayden
St. George’s Independent School
Elijah Howard
Webb School of Knoxville
Division II Class AA Lineman Division II Class AA Back
Tanner Antonutti
Ensworth High School
Griffin Hawkins
Briarcrest Christian School
Giovanni Hightower-Reviere
McCallie School
Dorian Hopkins
Memphis University School
Ben Brooks
Pope John Paul II High School
Ty Chandler
Montgomery Bell Academy
Jeremiah Oatsvall
Brentwood Academy
Robert Riddle
McCallie School
Kicker of the Year  
Joe Doyle
Farragut High School
Jake McClure
East Hamilton High School
Jacob Smith
Siegel High School
Adam Williams
Wilson Central High School